Make’n’Tell: I < 3 February

January 9, 2014 § 1 Comment

So, like I said in the first post of 2014, I want to really push myself to get back into creating and blogging regularly. I figure why not try another Make’n’Tell? In case you weren’t around the first time (back on my old blog), Make’n’Tell is a month long fiesta of creating and blogging, with a project and a post every day. There are rules to be followed, but since it’s a creative thing the rules have some flexibility built in. And if you want to play along but something in the rules doesn’t work for you, of course you should change it or throw it out! (If you played along the first time you’ll notice I’ve changed the rules slightly, for exactly this reason.)

Here are the rules, such as they are. If you don’t follow them, we will all point and laugh, just like real Show’n’Tell. Seriously, these are the parameters I’m setting for myself. If something in these doesn’t work for you, feel free to change it so it does. This is intended to help me focus and grow as an artisan, not be some kind of weird refuge for rules lawyers. Without further ado and in no particular order:

  1. The Make can be in any medium, including but not limited to yarn, digital graphics, food, photography, drawing, painting, etc.
  2. The Tell must include at least one photo (note: if I’m working on a design I can’t share yet, it may not be  much of a photo or may even be a photo of something else, but will still be a photo I’ve taken and I’ll try to make it relate in some way to the project. I’ll try to avoid this, but it’s possible it might happen).
  3. The Tell will occur on the day after the Make, unless the blogger gives previous notice (for example, I’ll be out of town January 18th & 19th and don’t  know if I’ll be able to post. I’ll still Make on those days, but will post the Tells on the 20th if I can’t get them up while I’m away.)
  4. The Make may be derivative but may not be wholly unoriginal. For example, the day I originally wrote these rules, I made Indoor S’Mores. I followed the recipe exactly, with no deviation or modification. I would not count that as a Make. I would totally count it if I had, for instance, made little muffin cup portions instead of just throwing it in a pan as directed in the recipe. (Note to self: do that next time. Brilliant idea. Did it, and it was totally a brilliant idea. 🙂 ) Generally, though, I want my Make to be even more original — the idea, after all, is to stretch my creative wings.
  5. There should be a Make’n’Tell every day of the month, except as noted in Rule 3.
  6. The Make should be either a complete work OR consist of at least 30 minutes of work on an ongoing project. I do a lot of bigger projects, and I don’t want to stop doing them, but I don’t always have time or ability to do a big project in a single day. On the other hand, if I have a small project in mind and it only takes me 15 minutes to complete it, I’m okay with that. And some days I might only have time for that one little thing. So I think that should count, too.
  7. The Make can be similar to a previously completed project. For instance, I’ve made several dresses for my daughter. I use an original pattern and modify it pretty much every time. Each instance of dressmaking would count as a Make.
  8. I ❤ February Make’n’Tell will last for the 28 days of February, commencing with the first Tell on February 1 and closing with the last Tell on February 28. (It’s my birthday! Maybe perhaps there will be a little something special and extra, because if you know me, you know I ❤ my birthday just a ridiculous amount.) (Oh! And this year it’s on a Friday! BIRTHDAY WEEKEND! But I digress.) So, start thinking about your projects and get your blogging fingers ready and let’s do this thing!
Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Make’n’Tell: I < 3 February

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Make’n’Tell: I < 3 February at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

