O. M. G.*

May 10, 2012 § 3 Comments

* The “G” is for gumbo.

Yum. Just…yum.

Remember last week I told you about my Shrimp’n’Grits, and promised to tell you all about the gumbo I made later that evening with the shrimpy butter as the base for the roux? Well, here you go. I call this my “Kitchen Sink Gumbo” because, in direct violation of everything I read in my Louisiana cookbooks (specifically Donald Link’s Real Cajun and the Times-Picayune collection Cooking Up a Storm) it involves seafood, chicken, and andouille sausage all thrown in the pot together. And it’s goooood. I tasted it to see if it needed more salt/kick/whatever and said, “Oh, that’s good. [pause] OH. That’s goooooood.”

I’d never made a gumbo before, but there were things I knew I wanted (shrimp, chicken, andouille) and things I knew I didn’t (green peppers — I’m allergic). I ended up consulting all of the gumbo recipes in both of the aforementioned books and then making a bit of a mish-mosh of them all. I think the biggest deviation I made (aside from combining all the meat types) was the roux. All of the gumbo recipes I consulted called for an oil-based dark roux; I wanted to use my shrimpy butter so I ended up with a lighter roux. I think it came out just fine (where “just” = “damned”). I served it over rice, and found that a sweet cornbread makes a nice side.

Recipe

(loosely adapted from recipes found in Donald Link’s Real Cajun and the Times-Picayune collection Cooking Up a Storm)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c butter
  • 3/4 c flour
  • 1/4 c diced celery
  • 1/4 c carrots, sliced into coins
  • 1/4 c onions (I don’t really like onion a whole lot, and I especially hate chopping onion, so I used itty bitty pearl onions that I just cut in half and threw in.)
  • 1 can Progresso red clam sauce
  • 32 oz. chicken broth
  • 1/2 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/2 lb chicken, diced and cooked
  • 1/2 lb andouille sausage, sliced into half circles
  • 2-3 bay leaves, crushed
  • Salt to taste
  • Cayenne pepper to taste (1/2 tsp was just enough for me, but I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to spicy)

In the bottom of a large stockpot or dutch oven, melt butter. Add flour to make a roux, and cook until fairly dark (but be careful not to burn it). Add celery, carrots, and onions. Cook until soft. Add clam sauce, broth, and all meats. Boil for a few minutes, stirring frequently. Reduce heat, add bay leaves and simmer for 2hrs (give or take). Add salt and cayenne pepper just before removing from heat.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to O. M. G.*

  • michelle says:

    My husband has a recipe that doesn’t use a roux at all. It uses okra. Also, catfish instead of chicken.

    • Laura says:

      I have deep-seated issues with okra and its sliminess. This might actually be a good way to eat it, though, if the pieces are cut small enough and maybe fried off first to get rid of the slime. The catfish sounds good, but I think I’d do it “in addition” rather than “instead of”. 🙂

  • […] storm) and played with making some of the dishes I dream about. You may remember that gumbo I made a while back, for instance. My latest attempt to bring NOLA north is the legendary […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading O. M. G.* at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

