Laura Is a Punk Rocker!

January 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

I need a haircut. Not a trim, a cut. About three inches needs to be just whacked right off the bottom of my hair (don’t worry — it’ll still be quite long). See, I sort of won the genetic hair lottery…it grows in lovely and thick and straight, and I take care not to damage it by not using any product on it and not blow-drying or using hot curlers on it except for special occasions. This means I can get away with only getting a trim every 6 – 9 months or so…but occasionally I lose track and go even longer between. This is usually not a problem, but last time I got it trimmed I didn’t have them take enough off, so now my hair is just way, way too long. The ends are getting a little frizzy, but mostly? It’s just too damn long for me to do anything with. Unfortunately, for the next few weeks I’m going to have neither the time nor the inclination to get a cut.

Also, I’ve been thinking about dyeing my hair blue. Not all of it, but like a big strak of it. I’ve been holding off because I didn’t know if I’d like it and if I didn’t, well, I’d either be stuck with it or have to get a short cut to get rid of it, or overdye it so I’d have a streak of hair that didn’t quite match my real hair (because it never does), and I wasn’t really excited about any of those options (and even if I did like it, I’d be facing one of those options eventually as it grew out). But I came across this on Pinterest the other day and decided instead of growing increasingly annoyed with the extra inches, I’d do something fun with it instead. So now, there’s a rainbow on my head!

Contrary to the advice in the article, I did do the bleaching myself (because remember, worst case scenario, I go and get a haircut that I need anyhow). Kit put the color on for me — twice. See, I also came across some stuff on the intarwubs about dying hair with Kool-Aid. It worked, but after I shampooed it looked as if I’d done it weeks ago and it was just barely hanging on. So I got some proper hair dye (had to go to the beauty supply store) and we did it all over again. It’s still not as vibrant as I’d expected, I suspect because I used over-the-counter 30 volume peroxide (L’Oreal, I think, but I wouldn’t swear to it) instead of waiting and getting 40 volume at the beauty supply store. My hair is both dark and reddish, so it just didn’t come up particularly light, which means the color put on top of it was sitting on a dark base rather than a light base.

I really love it, and will probably do it again even after I finally get my hair cut. I’m lucky that I work in a creative industry for a pretty easy-going company, but even if I didn’t, since the color is only on the ends I could always hide it in a bun for work.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Laura Is a Punk Rocker! at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

