Inspiration

October 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

You may have noticed that I’ve been absent from this space for a while. Frankly, I’ve had a lot going on. I’ve been sick in a couple of different ways; I’ve got some Very Awesome but also Very Secret projects going on that I can’t post about (yet); and then I was away at Otherworld, which was more magical this year than ever before, which is a pretty tall order. More about that in a later post, because today I want to talk about someone else.

Yesterday, I followed a link from a tweet to Gregory Patrick’s blog. I read a little bit, and then I read a little more, and then I kept reading. This man’s story — no, this man — is amazing. When he found himself unemployed and eventually homeless, he used his knitting skills to make teddy bears, which he sold/sells to keep himself and his cat fed. He is slowly rebuilding his life, step by step, and the things he’s gone through and gotten himself past are just incredible. I’ll let you read his story for yourself, in his own words, but I’ll tell you what touched me: the strength and dignity and courage with which he has faced down the challenges he has been given. Add to that the kindness that shines through both in his blog posts and his policies (for instance, if you buy his three-bear set and give one to charity, he gives a pretty hefty discount on the set…read his story and you’ll see what a big sacrifice that must be for him, but that seems to be just the kind of guy he is).

All that I’ve been going through lately is nothing compared to what Gregory has and is going through. He has inspired me to pull myself up out of my funk, to strive to be a better person, to throw myself into trying to make making my dreams coming true.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

