When a dilemma really isn’t

May 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

A couple of my friends are busy having babies and I had thought I would make them quick little baby blankets. Then an awesome pattern came across my Twitter feed, and I was smitten by the Lolly Pod. The pattern is available for sale either at the designer’s website or via Ravelry, and I realized I had a dilemma.

See, being a bit of a designer myself, I realized that I could very easily reverse-engineer this pattern. Not that I would do so to sell as my own, but there was really no need for me to shell out six bucks for the pattern. But. I want to see independent designers flourish (again, being a bit of one myself). This is a design that thought clearly went into, is fairly unique, and is not overpriced, especially since you get the patterns for both the cap and the sack. So really, not much of a dilemma at all when I thought it through.

And now that I’ve purchased the pattern, I’m very pleased to see that it appears to be thoughtfully laid out, reasonably well written (that’s always hard for me to really judge fairly until I actually work through it), and a lot of fun to make. I can’t wait to cast on! Now I just have to choose a yarn…I’m thinking I might go with Lion Brand Superwash Merino Cashmere…because machine washable and cashmere sounds just perfect for baby stuff. (Full disclosure: I work for LB, so I tend to use their stuff a lot. But still…washable cashmere…how does that not have “baby” written all over it?)

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When a dilemma really isn’t at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

