(non)Intelligent Design

October 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

Three things happened to me yesterday, directly related to my designing of knitted things. Two are super awesome, and the other one not so much (and the lack of awesome there is exacerbated by it being avoidable):

Thing the first: I received notice that a submission I sent out a while back had been accepted. YAY! Emails of that flavor always give me a good 10 minutes or so of pure, unadulterated happiness before I start organizing and moving things around on my schedule and updating spreadsheets and whatnot. And even after the organizing part starts, there’s still a happy little glow there from the acceptance.

Thing the second: Jane Austen Knits Fall 2012 hit newsstands, and I received a note from a lovely woman asking me to please add my Maiden Fair Blouse pattern to Ravelry, as it was so beautiful and she’d like to add it to her queue. Done! A few notes about the Maiden Fair Blouse:

Slightly puffed sleeves, a low-cut neckline, and empire styling under the bust all evoke Regency-era fashion. Like many of Jane Austen’s characters, this little sweater has a sweet girlishness but also a hint of sophistication and elegance. The lace rib of the bodice is reflected in the detailing of the raglan sleeve shaping and easy ruffles adorn the edges.

It’s worked in Rowan Cashsoft DK, which is lovely both to look at and use. I really want to make one for me, if I ever have the time. Much like the cobbler’s children, I’m quickly finding that the designer never has cute new sweaters for herself. [Note to publishers: This is totally a problem I’m okay having.]

Thing the third: I tried on the sweater I’ve been working madly on (for self publishing! Finally a sweater for ME!) the past couple of weeks to check the armhole shaping…and discovered the chest measurement was way, way off. Let’s talk about this a minute, because I really have no one but myself to blame here. I mean, clearly my swatch is a filthy, filthy liar, but I know better by now than to ever fully trust a swatch.

I had a feeling while I was working the ribbing that it was going to be a bit wide, but I decided to ignore it/hope for the best/pretend it was all going to be fine once I was working in stockinette. THEN, I somehow never got around to actually measuring the width of the sweater (I’m blaming this on the fact that I was, at that point, determined that it would be my Rhinebeck sweater, which clearly didn’t happen anyhow — god, can you imagine how pissed I’d’ve been if I actually had managed to finish the thing for the show only to find it didn’t fit?). So I really could have saved myself a lot of heart/finger ache here, if I’d only a) trusted my instincts and/or b) actually taken a moment to check that I was on track. Sigh. At least it’ll be faster to knit it back up once I lose the extra stitches, right?

I’m going to put this one aside for awhile to focus on a couple of submissions and a super cute hat that should, in theory, be ready for release next week, but then I’m going to jump right back to it as, fit issues not withstanding, I think it’s going to be fabulous when it’s done properly.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading (non)Intelligent Design at Tasteful Diversions.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers

